Travel in Sai Kung
Accessibility | Font size: A A A | 中文純文字版 | Eng Text Mode | 中文彩色版 | Eng Colour Mode
Contact Us | Links | Site map | Acknowledgements
Home | About Us |  News  | Cultural Heritage  | Traveling Route | Geo Walk | Getting There | Publications  | Gallery  | Join Our List

Geo Walk

Home>> Geo Walk >> Boat Tour of Sai Kung IslandsBoat Tour of Sai Kung Islands

        Spectacular hexagonal volcanic columns are the highlight of this boat tour. As most offshore islands in Sai Kung are remote, boat tour provides the best way for visitors to appreciate their scenic beauty. In addition, one can see the diverse morphology of sea caves, sea stacks and sea arches, as well as depositional landforms such as beaches and tombolos. Visitors can undertake the boat tours by hiring ferries at Sai Kung Pier, and follow the suggested summer route/winter route. (Please click here for more details.)

 

(a)    Sharp Island Geo Trail (1 km for return route, 1 hour)

         This 1 kilometre trail is located at the coast on the western side of Sharp Island. Along the route one can see volcanic rocks from different geological periods, such as agglomerate, eutaxite and rhyolite, which serves as an ideal location for studying volcanic rocks. A tombolo is linked between Sharp Island and Kiu Tau. (Please click here for more details.)

Remarks: Visitors should note the fidal levels before crossing the tombolo.

Reference:

Hong Kong Global Geopar of China “Geo-tour Routes in Sai Kung Volcanic Rock Region” (Leaflet)

 

 

Sharp Island Geo Trail

 

 

 (b)    JinIsland
 

        Jin island is located at the south of Kau Sai Chau in Sai Kung. Jin is separated from its partner island Kau Sai Chau by an extremely narrow channel. The southern part of Jin Island was being eroded by waves which led the head land was separated from the main rock to form a sea stack called “Tiu Chung Rock”. Since the sea stack has a crooked shape that looks like “Goldfish waves the tail”. As the erosion proceeds, there is a 30m high long sea arch developed called “Tiu Chung Arch” which is rated as the most beautiful of its kind in Hong Kong. “Tiu Chung Arch” shaped as a bell in temple, it looks like a golden bell when the sunshine lights it up.

 

 

  

JinIsland

 

 

 

 

(c)    Ung Kong Group
 

         Together known as the Ung Kong Group, Wang Chau, Basalt Island and Bluff Island consist of hexagonal columns, which are well exposed along the coast. The southeast-facing coastlines, attacked by the relentless waves and wind, showcase some spectacular columnar joints and precipitous cliffs. The 30m-high long sea arch at Wang Chau, the 45m-high sea arch at Basalt Island and the Tiu Chung Arch at Jin Island have entered the list of top four sea arches in Hong Kong. (Please click here for more details.) 

 

 

Ung Kong Group

  

(d)    NinepinIsland
 

         The Ninepin group is made up of three larger islands, namely EastNinepinIsland, SouthNinepinIsland and NorthNinepinIsland, and several small rock islets. Imposing hexagonal columns of NorthNinepinIsland are particularly breathtaking. Long-term wind and wave erosion of rocks with joints has resulted in many peculiar abrasion landforms. The hexagonal rock columns here are measured over 2 m in diameter, ranking first in the region. (Please click here for more details.)

 

NinepinIsland 

 

(e)    Po Pin chau
 

         The island that resembles an isosceles triangle by the east dam of High Island Reservoir is the famous Po Pin Chau. The island is an excellent place to see a typical sea stack landform. Here, a hill was cut in half by natural erosion processes and a gigantic sea stack came to being. Po Pin Chau was once part of High Island. Long years of erosion have separated it from the mainland. Today this islet and High Island stand closely opposite, with just a narrow strip of water between them. High Island and the surrounding region is volcanic rock terrain. Rock stacks on the shore of Po Pin Chau tower almost vertically in the middle of the sea. The rock face looks just like a giant pipe organ. In the north, the rugged rock consists of a slope and an intertidal platform. The southern scene is entirely different. High Island rears up majestically in the near distance, while Po Pin Chau flaunts her slanting acidic volcanic rock face which is perfect and even. The top is covered with green plants. Down below brown rock braves the raging sea. It is an exhilarating sight.

 

Po Pin chau

 

 

(f)    Kau Sai Chau
 

        Kau Sai Chau is the largest outlying island in Sai Kung. It is also Hong Kong’s third largest island, ranking after Lantau and Lamma. It is 4 km long from north to south, and more than 2 km wide. Three closely set peaks on the island rise more than 200m above sea level. The narrow channel that separates kau Sai Chau from Jin Island is only 30 metres wide. From a distance the two islands seem like one, and the water is so shallow that it is inaccessible to junks and big sampans at low tide. The island’s indented shores are bejewelled with deep secluded bays. Amongst them Kau Sai Wan is most outstanding. The best way to see Kau Sai Chau is by sea. After sailing around the island, get ashore for a pleasant hike. Travelling south from the east coast, you can enjoy a great showcase of precipitous rock cliffs, unusual rock formations, bays and coves, jagged spurs and breathtaking wave cut features. The variation is ravishing.

  

Reference: Hong Kong Global Geopark of China > Geopark Visitor Centre

Useful links:

  1. Information on Geo-Areas
  2. Geo-tour Routes
  3. Geo Heritage Centres
  4. Geopark Visitor Centres
  5. Code for Visiting Geosities in Hong Kong

 
Other links:

  1. Hong Kong Global Geopark of China
  2. Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department
  3. Association for Geoconservation, Hong Kong
  4. Sai Kung Geo-Heritage Information Centre (Latest News)
  5. Hong Kong Traveler (in Chinese version only)
  6. Hong Kong Discovery (in Chinese version only)
  7. China Geoparks Network (in Chinese version only)
  8. European  Geoparks Network (ENG)  

 

 

Clicks:82535
© Copyright 2011 Sai Kung District Council | Copyright Notice | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer

西貢旅遊網
無障礙瀏覽 | 字型大小: A A A | 中文純文字版 | Eng Text Mode | 中文彩色版 | Eng Colour Mode | 繁體
聯絡我們 | 友好連結 | 網站指南 | 特別鳴謝
主頁 | 關於我們  |  最新消息  | 西貢歷史文化  | 西貢東西遊 | 西貢地質之旅 | 前往西貢 | 出版刊物  | 相片分享  | 電郵登記

西貢地質之旅

主頁>> 西貢地質之旅 >> 西貢島嶼海路漫遊西貢島嶼海路漫遊

路線二:西貢島嶼海路漫遊

 

        「西貢島嶼海路漫遊」的主題是世界級六方形火山岩柱景觀。由於這些島嶼孤懸海上,要一睹其廬山真貌,若非乘船就不能如願。此外,遊客沿途還可以欣賞到形態萬千的海蝕洞、海岩柱、海蝕拱、海蝕隙和海積地貌如海灘及連島沙洲等。遊客可自行預約船隻,由西貢碼頭乘船出發,根據建議的夏天漫遊路線或冬天漫遊路線遊覽西貢島嶼上的地質奇景。[ 詳情請按此瀏覽 ]

 

一.    橋咀洲地質步道

 (來回全長1公里,需時1小時)

 

        「橋咀洲地質步道」位於橋咀洲西面海岸,全長約1公里,徑內可以看到不同時代形成的火山岩,包括火山角礫岩、條紋斑雜岩和流紋岩等,能為遊客展示不同時期和不同形式火山噴發所形成的火山岩的異同。對比觀看這些火山岩,可以引發獨特的趣味。一條連島沙州將橋咀洲和橋頭連接起來。[ 詳情請按此瀏覽 ]

註: 通過連島沙州需特別留意潮汐漲退。

 

橋咀洲地質步道

 

 

二.    吊鐘洲

 

        吊鐘洲位於西貢滘西洲南端,一道極為狹窄的水道把它與其夥伴滘西洲分開。吊鐘洲南面長期受著海浪拍打侵蝕,使岬角與岩體分離,形成海蝕柱名為「吊鐘岩」,由於形狀彎曲,形如金魚,因此被稱為「金魚擺尾」。因為海浪持續的侵蝕,岩中逐漸形成一個高30米的長形海蝕拱「吊鐘洞」,被譽為香港最美的海蝕拱。「吊鐘洞」形狀像寺廟的大鐘;當金黃色的陽光照射入內時,就會出現有如金鐘凌空倒懸的畫面,「吊鐘」之名正是由此而來。

 

吊鐘洲

 

 

 

三.    甕缸群島

 

        甕缸群島由沙塘口山、橫洲、火石洲等多個島嶼組成,沿岸盡是密集排列的六角形火山岩柱,由於承受南中國海猛烈的風浪長期衝擊,以致形成極多懸崖峭壁和海蝕拱。橫洲角高30米的長形海蝕拱、火石洲高45 米的海蝕拱及吊鐘洲的吊鐘拱門都被譽為香港四大海蝕拱。[ 詳情請按此瀏覽 ]

 

甕缸群島

 

 

 

相關連結:
一.    中國香港世界地質公園 景點資料

二.    中國香港世界地質公園 遊覽路線

三.    中國香港世界地質公園 教育中心

四.    中國香港世界地質公園 遊客中心

五.    遊覽香港國家地質景點守則


相關網站: 
一.    中國香港世界地質公園
二.    漁農自然護理署
三.    香港地貌岩石保育協會
四.    西貢地質文化資訊中心(最新活動詳情)
五.    旅行家 
六.    野外動向
七.    中國地質公園網
八.    歐洲地質公園網 (只有英文)

 

 

 

四.    果洲群島

 

        果洲群島由南果洲、北果洲、東果洲,以及多個小島和石排組成,其中北果洲的六角形岩柱尤為壯觀;布滿節理岩石長期受到風浪侵蝕,因此造成大量蔚為奇觀的海蝕地貌。這裏的六方柱直徑可達2米以上,為區內之最。 [ 詳情請按此瀏覽 ]

 

果洲群島 

 

 

五.    破邊洲

 

        萬宜水庫東壩旁邊狀如等腰三角形的小島,就是著名的破邊洲,所展現的是典型海蝕柱景觀;完整的山體被自然力量劈為兩半,使破邊洲形成巨大的海蝕柱。很久以前,破邊洲原是糧船灣的一部分,經過長年侵蝕,終於跟陸地分離,成為跟糧船灣僅有一水之隔的小島。糧船灣一帶由火山岩構成,破邊洲沿岸的石柱以近乎垂直的角度豎立海中,形狀就好像巨大的管風琴一樣。它的北面是凹凸不平的岩石,部分為山坡,部分為潮間平台。南面的景象截然不同,糧船灣高聳而立,破邊洲則展現由傾斜酸性火山岩組成、完全均稱岩壁。其頂部長滿蒼翠的植物,下面全是棕色的岩石,滔滔驚濤無止拍岸,非常壯觀。

 

破邊洲

 

 

 

六.    滘西洲

 

        滘西洲是西貢最大的離島,也是位列大嶼山和南丫島之後的香港第三大島,南北長4公里,闊度超過2公里,三個靠近的山峰全都高於200米。它是吊鐘洲之間的海峽僅寬30米,遠看就好像連成一體,而且水很淺,因此每逢潮退,漁船和大舢舨都無法駛過。其海岸線曲折有致,當中有若干受遮蔽的深灣,其中以滘西灣尤為突出。最佳的遊覽方或是在西貢租船環島一周,然後再登岸遠足,若從東岸啟程,一直往南,沿岸盡是奇石峭壁,大小的海灣、嶙峋的巒峰和眾多的海蝕奇景。 

 

 

點擊數:85359
© Copyright 2011 Sai Kung District Council 版權告示 私隱政策 免責條款