Travel in Sai Kung
Accessibility | Font size: A A A | 中文純文字版 | Eng Text Mode | 中文彩色版 | Eng Colour Mode
Contact Us | Links | Site map | Acknowledgements
Home | About Us |  News  | Cultural Heritage  | Traveling Route | Geo Walk | Getting There | Publications  | Gallery  | Join Our List

Cultural Heritage

Home >>  About Sai Kung  >> 2. The Unruly Horse Outside the House of Che Kung the Marshal - Che Kung Temple at Ho Chung: From the "Five Tigers from the Mountain" to the Legend of the White Horse About Sai Kung

2. The Unruly Horse Outside the House of Che Kung the Marshal - Che Kung Temple at Ho Chung: From the "Five Tigers from the Mountain" to the Legend of the White Horse

         Most people have the notion that Che Kung Temple is situated in Sha Tin. In fact, the Che Kung Temple at Ho Chung has a history of about 460 years and is about 200 years older than its counterpart in Sha Tin. The former is thus the grandfather of the latter.


         Before we talk about the "the Legend of the White Horse", it is necessary to mention the story of "Five Tigers from the Mountains" and the origin of the Che Kung Temple at Ho Chung. The building of Che Kung Temple is closely related to Ho Chung village and its surrounding topography. It is said that Ho Chung village is surrounded by five mountains, including Lok Shan Fu above Mok Tse Che, Tai Lam Wu, Kai Ham, Pak Fa Lam and Wui Tau Fu. Fung Shui masters consider that they look like "Five Tigers". Their fierceness would cause misfortune to villagers. Fortunately, villagers are protected by the hill Chu Shan (Pig Hill) in their opposite which has blocked the way of these tigers.


         In the last years of the Southern Sung Dynasty, Che Kung the Marshal went south to Hong Kong and was stationed in Sai Kung. He cured all villagers who fell into sickness. After his death, villagers built the Che Kung Temple in Ho Chung in memory of the Marshal and to check the fierceness of the "beasts".


         Upon completion of the temple, some villagers considered that it would not be decent for a Marshal not having his own horse. They then raised funds to purchase a white stone horse and it was placed outside the temple. However, a series of weird incidents happened since then.


        The village used to have good harvests for many years. Since the white stone horse was placed outside the temple, the harvests had become poor even though the seedlings and wheat grew properly. This problem was commonplace among all villagers. Moreover, when the villagers went to work in the fields early in the morning, they found that the crops lay trampled and animal footprints were left on the soil. The villagers were puzzled as such things happened for a consecutive of three years.


        The villagers then invited a Fung Shui master to the village who concluded that all the incidents had been caused by the white horse's spirit. Consequently, the villages decided to take "action" to remedy the situation.


        They removed the white horse and buried it outside the temple with a large incense burner placed on top of the site to "suppress" the spirit. From then on, the villagers enjoyed peaceful life and good harvests again.


        The story may just be folklore and not be so credible. Many years ago, a scholar interested in the incident tried to find out the truth. With the aid of a radar detector, he believed that he had located the location of the buried white stone horse. However, his excavation was thwarted by the strong objection of the villagers.


        While the truth is buried under the ground, there is much room for our imagination.

 

       

 

 

References:

C.K.Tsoi, "Sai Kung Scenic Spots and Heritage" (Hong Kong, Sai Kung District Board, 1995), pp.16-19.
Sai Kung Annual Committee, "Sai Kung" (Hong Kong: Sai Kung District Office Sai Kung Annual Committee, 1983), pp.19-20.
Clicks:10198
© Copyright 2011 Sai Kung District Council | Copyright Notice | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer

西貢旅遊網
無障礙瀏覽 | 字型大小: A A A | 中文純文字版 | Eng Text Mode | 中文彩色版 | Eng Colour Mode | 繁體
聯絡我們 | 友好連結 | 網站指南 | 特別鳴謝
主頁 | 關於我們  |  最新消息  | 西貢歷史文化  | 西貢東西遊 | 西貢地質之旅 | 前往西貢 | 出版刊物  | 相片分享  | 電郵登記

西貢歷史

主頁 >>  大話西貢  >> 二.車帥府外馬橫行—蠔涌車公廟由“五虎下山”到“白馬”傳奇大話西貢

二.車帥府外馬橫行—蠔涌車公廟由“五虎下山”到“白馬”傳奇

  提起車公廟,大多數人都只會意識到沙田那一座。原來,位於西貢蠔涌的車公廟,已約有四百六十年歷史,而前者與後者的設立時間,相距約二百年;與此同時,兩者更有著爺孫的關係。

 

  在說“白馬傳奇”之前,先以“五虎下山”傳說介紹蠔涌車公廟的建置由來。車公廟的設立,與蠔涌村及附近的地貌有著密切的關係;話說蠔涌村一帶有五座山頭,包括莫遮輋上面的“落山虎”、大藍湖、界咸、百花林及回頭虎,堪輿家認為,這是“五虎下堂”的陣勢,煞氣極大,對蠔涌村居民不利;幸好對面有一座小山岡名為“豬山”,阻塞著“落山虎”,村民才得幸免。

 

  南宋末年,帝昺的大元帥車公南下來港,駐守西貢,村民每有患病,一經他診斷,必能妙手回春。後來,村民為了紀念車大元師的功德及想藉著他的威名鎮壓這幾頭“畜牲”,遂建置了蠔涌車公廟。

 

  車公廟建成後,有村民認為車大元帥胯下無坐騎,不成體統。於是,集資為車公購買了一隻白石馬,放於廟外。自此,怪事發生了。

 

  蠔涌村原本年年豐收,果實纍纍,但自放白石馬於廟外後,縱使禾穗長得很好,但收割時則穀內無粒米,全村居民都遇到同樣情況。此外,居民每早下田工作時,都發現稻田裡的禾穗東歪西倒,凌亂不堪,泥土上還留下野獸的足跡。更嚴重的是,這樣的怪事不只發生了一年,而是連續三年都同樣出現,居民無不嘖嘖稱奇。

 

  後來,村民請了一位堪輿師到來勘察,認為這是白石馬成精作祟,導致農作物失收及遭踐踏;於是,村民決定採取“行動”。

 

  村民合力把白石馬拆下來,埋在廟門外的空地下,並在地下放置了一個香爐躉作“鎮壓”。自此,蠔涌村回復太平,五穀豐收。

 

  或言這只是一個民間故事,並不足信;但多年前,一位對該事件感興趣的學者,有意把白石馬發掘出來,尋找真相,於是特意找來雷達探測器尋找白石馬被埋的位置;當時位置已確定了、準備動手之際,由於村民的反對而作罷。

 

  真相雖永埋地下,但卻為大眾留下廣闊的想像空間。

 

       

 

資料來源:

蔡子傑:《西貢風貌》(香港:西貢區議會,1995年),頁16-19。
西貢特刊工作委員會:《西貢》(香港:西貢政務處西貢特刊工作委員會,1983年),頁19-20。

點擊數:8654
© Copyright 2011 Sai Kung District Council 版權告示 私隱政策 免責條款